West Bengal Assembly Election 2011: Beginning of New Era

West Bengal Assembly Election 2011: Beginning of New Era

All India Trinamool Congress, Indian National Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, Gorkha National Liberation Front, Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha contested last Assembly Election under banner of UPA and clearly had a sweep by winning 227 of 294 seats. On this historic victory Mamata Banerjee responded, “This is a victory of democracy, victory of Maa, Maati, Manush(mother, land and people). There will be end of autocracy and atrocities.”

In my views, this was one of the first decisive outcomes of the movement of change, which the Indian democracy was witnessing. It can be compared only with the change which Delhi witnessed in last Assembly Election. The result reflected the mood of resident of West Bengal and it was just a beginning of new era. Time and West Bengal had yet to see the good-bad-ugly of the decision they took. Here is a party wise breakup of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly Election:

Party Name
Communist Party of India (CPI)- 2 Seats
Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM) – 40 Seats
Indian National Congress (INC) – 42 Seats
All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) – 11 Seats
All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) – 184 Seats
Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) – 7 Seats
Samajwadi Party (SP) 1 Seat
Democratic Socialist Party (Prabodh Chandra) (DSP)(P) – 1 Seats
Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GOJAM) – 3 Seats
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) (SUCI) – 1 Seat
Independent (IND) – 2 Seats

In my views West Bengal Legislative Assembly Election 2011 was one of the toughest elections fought in the state by communists. The fight was not only from the combined might of the Trinamool, Congress and others but also form the antagonists within. Trinamool and the Congress had won election, but it was not a regular win. The demand from the new West Bengal was not normal, which was clearly reflected in the vote share and seat conversion. The victory of Trinamool over communists was the victory of faith, victory of hope, and statement of future. But for all I understand that the West Bengal Legislative Assembly Election 2016 will see the actual proof of the trust; the trust which resident of West Bengal had bestowed upon the Trinamool Government in general and Mamata Banerjee in particular. It will also reflect if Trinamool Government worked on the promise and going beyond jingoism and has done the required work in the state.

The West Bengal Legislative Assembly Election 2016 will also confirm that is it beginning of the beginning or beginning of the end for the Trinamool Government.

Share this Story:
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • gplus

About Braj Mohan Chaturvedi

Braj Mohan Chaturvedi comes with 14 years of corporate experience. He has worked with Accenture, PepsiCo, Monster.com, ICFAI University Press, in fields of business development, account management, sales and marketing consulting, corporate communication, content management, content development, corporate sales, marketing and branding.

He is a social media enthusiast and market 2.0 experts. He is passionate about Social Media Marketing and brings with him in-depth expertise in various facets of Social Media Marketing.

Leave a comment